寧波車本人既是學者又是老師。 一位不分教派的利美大師,在著名的隆德寺和那蘭陀佛學院接受傳統的寺院教育之後,又赴哈佛大學攻讀博士學位,並於2004年成為首位獲得博士學位的轉世喇嘛。 他從11歲開始便廣泛地開展教學活動:指導寺院裡的僧人,佛教中心的閉關者和在校的大學生們。

出生於尼泊爾的雪巴族家庭,寧波車從小就被佛教噶舉傳承至尊領袖十六世嘉華噶瑪巴認定為第三世宗南嘉哇寧波車的轉世,也是一千多年前佛教噶舉派創始人西藏最受愛戴的偉大的瑜伽師密拉日巴的化身。

在錫金噶瑪噶舉傳承的本廟 – 隆德寺坐床,開始接受密集的傳統寺院教育。 再者,他還接受來自西藏四大主要教派領袖的教法,這就是很稀有的被稱之為不分教派的利美。

寧波車於1991年以最優異的成績畢業於印度瓦拉納西的桑普南梵文大學那蘭陀學院,並獲得碩士學位,主修小乘、大乘、藏傳金剛乘佛法的認知學、倫理學和哲學。

他成為密歇根大學安阿伯分校亞洲語言與文化系的訪問學者。1997年,他獲哈佛大學藝術與科學學院取錄,修讀印藏佛學博士課程。博士論文是關於密拉日巴最傑出的弟子、噶瑪噶舉傳承的創始人岡波巴,分析了這位十二世紀西藏佛教最關鍵人物的生活和弘法事業。他於2004年哈佛畢業。

除了尼泊爾語和雪巴族方言外,寧波車還精通英文、藏文、中文、梵文和印度文。他學習這些語言是為著能夠幫助不同背景的人。

寧波車帶領著遍布全球的佛教與世間組織。雖然它們各司其職,但都致力於弘法,為有需要人士提供高品質教育,並參與救災和為災區提供其它人道援助。

Rinpoche himself is both a scholar and a teacher. A Rimay master, he received traditional monastic training in the renowned Rumtek Monastery and Nalanda Institute, then pursued a doctorate at Harvard University, in 2004 becoming the first incarnate lama to receive a PhD. He has taught extensively since age eleven, instructing monks at monasteries, retreatants at Buddhist centers and students at universities.

Born to Sherpa parents, Rinpoche was recognized at a young age by the supreme head of the Kagyu lineage of Buddhism, the 16th Gyalwa Karmapa, as the reincarnation of the 3rd Trungram Gyalwa and an emanation of the great yogi Milarepa, one of the most beloved saints of Tibet and the founder of the Kagyu school of Buddhism over a thousand years ago.

He was enthroned at the Rumtek Monastery in Sikkim, seat of the Karma Kagyu lineage, where he began an intensive traditional monastic education. In addition, he received teachings from the heads of Tibetan Buddhism’s four major lineages, including the Dalai Lama. This is an extremely rare distinction, known as Rimay.

Rinpoche earned a Master’s Degree in 1991 with top honors from the Nalanda Institute of the Sampurnan and Sanskrit University in Varanasi, India, where he majored in Buddhist epistemology, ethics and the philosophies of the Hinayana, Mahayana and Vajrayana schools of Tibetan Buddhism.

He joined the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, as a visiting scholar in the Department of Asian Languages and Culture. In 1997 he was accepted by Harvard’s Faculty of Arts and Sciences as a doctoral student in Indo-Tibetan Buddhism. His dissertation on Gompopa—the most prominent disciple of Milarepa—analyzes the life and work of this pivotal 12th century Tibetan figure and founder of the Karma Kagyu lineage. He graduated in 2004.

Rinpoche is fluent in English, Tibetan, Chinese, Sanskrit and Hindi—in addition to his native Nepali and its distinct Sherpa dialect; he learned these languages in order to help people of various backgrounds.

Rinpoche leads both Buddhist and secular organizations around the globe. While each serves a unique purpose, they are collectively dedicated to spreading Dharma teachings, providing quality education to those in need, and bringing disaster relief and other humanitarian aid to devastated areas.